Mt. Washington winter climb #2

This Saturday Matt, David, and I had a second successful Mt. Washington winter summit.  I won’t write a full trip report since I already wrote a post about the first climb, but boy howdy was the steep section in the trees steeper than I remembered!  Selective memory, amirite?

Panos are clickable to enlarge

Pano1

first real view towards boott spur

almost there... JK!!!!

almost there… JK!!!!

Our climb up to the summit was full of sweeping yet cloudy views.  It was windy (~45 mph) but it was so “warm” there wasn’t much risk of losing fingers and toes.  About 2 minutes after we hit the summit, some thick clouds rolled in and it was whiteout conditions for the descent.  I was having a weeee bit of a panic attack but luckily we had the large rock cairns to guide us for most of the way.

slightly... higher?

slightly… higher?

There was one stretch of trail where there weren’t any cairns and the wind had swept away the obvious boot tracks despite an army of Quebecians having just trampled through on their way up.  I had a weeee bit more of a panic attack but David backtracked a bit and spotted the trail from a brief break in the whiteout.

hi matt's head!

hi matt’s head!

We encountered several groups veering off trail and still on their way up to the summit despite the whiteout.  I must admit I thought they were completely bonkers.  If I wasn’t already descending when the whiteout hit, you better believe I would’ve turned my ass around right quick.  Guess I just have a healthy fear of death and dismemberment.

matt's giant goggles protect his internet anonymity so i don't have to!

matt’s giant goggles protect his internet anonymity so i don’t have to!

We eventually descended below the high clouds and my panic faded as we found the trees again.  Unlike last time, we didn’t hit a traffic jam in the steepest section (winning!) and we brought our own rope to make quick work of the steep mini wall.  After that we tra-la-la-ed all the way back to Pinkham as before, and even got to eat at Moat Mountain Smokehouse before all the skiers were done for the day.

i luv you, giant rock cairns

i luv you, giant rock cairns

i tried to take a picture of the steepest part but i'm pretty sure it just looks like snow

i tried to take a picture of the steepest part but i’m pretty sure it just looks like snow

And thus ended a successful pi day climb.  I guess that was pretty much a full trip report… I lied!

One thought on “Mt. Washington winter climb #2

Leave a Reply

