White Mountain leaf peepin’

This weekend I decided to HIKE ALONE and get in some unseasonably late leaf peepin’ in the whites.Β 

peepage... ZOOMHANCE

peepage… ZOOMHANCE

Because I have a phobia about hiking alone, I chose Welch-Dickey, a short and very popular loop hike where someone would most definitely find my body πŸ™‚ It’s also a great hike to take non-hikers on because there are mega view payoffs with (relatively) little effort.

soooo peepage

soooo peepage

This weekend seems to be right at peak for the lower whites and a bit past peak for higher elevations, so I chose my hike wisely. Β From I-93 I could see Lafayette, Lincoln, and Canon with more than a dusting of snow already. Β Winter is here, y’all (if you’re hanging out around 4000+ feet). Β The temperatures were also hovering around freezing and it was pretty blustery so Welch-Dickey was busy but not the highway it can often be. Β Win! Β That also meant that ice is already starting to form over the rock slabs, so be careful, y’all! Β (I’m sorry, I’ll really stop trying to say y’all… I’ve been watching a show that takes place in the south, y’all!).

thank you random couple, for standing there and giving the image some context of scale :)

thank you random couple, for standing there and giving the image some sense of scale πŸ™‚

I don’t really have much to add about the hike itself, which can be found all over the interwebz, so I’ll just show some purty leaf peepin’ pictures. Β The colors this year were better than in recent memory, but I still think that my first year in New Hampshire (2009) had the best peepin’. Β I’ve included some pictures from past years so you can decide for yourself πŸ˜›

a random dog!  welch-dickey 2009

a random dog! welch-dickey 2009

pannoooo. welch-dickey 2009

pannoooo. welch-dickey 2009

chocorua, 2010.  this was way past peak but my friend on the lower right cracks me up :)

chocorua, 2010. this was way past peak but my friend on the lower right cracks me up πŸ™‚

flume gorge, 2011

flume gorge, 2011

mt. washington as seen from wildcat, 2014

mt. washington as seen from wildcat, 2014

I took the meandering long way home via the Kancamagus scenic highway, which it turns out was already way past peak, so I got stuck behind lots of slow Massachusetts drivers for no reason, y’all! Β The end!

2 thoughts on “White Mountain leaf peepin’

Leave a Reply

